Desert advice.

Bobbyboe

WKR
Heading to the Arizona desert in 10 days for a otc hunt. This is my first time in the state and also archery hunting for mule deer. I’ve used available resources to identify water, access and public land. I also found aerial imagery from drought seasons and bookmarked tanks that had water during those seasons. I’ve also found glassing spots that are higher than to take advantage of glassing.

So, what advise do you have for a first time desert hunter? Specific plant or terrain that bodes well for mule deer, expected behavior and movement times of day, vacinity to water, ect. How far off the roads to you typically see others go?

Appreciate it.

Been a dry year so be prepared for many of your water sources to be empty. Also be prepared for those that do have water to have hunters there or nearby.

Quick edit: Deer may not hit the same water source on any sort of regularity. It is not in the deer's best interest to be that predictable. One area that I occasionally predator hunt does not have much water. Had cameras on two tanks. Would consistently go long stretches with zero deer; had to be other water in the area that I never found.

Expect lots of hunters and recreational users on the weekends. Things tend to be quieter during the week. This can dictate how far from the road you want to go.

Gain some elevation and glass the lower 1/2-1/3 of the mountains and down into the flats. If you are seeing a lot of Coues, look lower. There can be some overlap in the terrain they cover. Look for activity at first and last light. Glass during the day and look under brush/trees/etc. They'll get up to use the bathroom, stretch, and move to shade (what is shady now may be in the sun in an hour).

Last edited:
OP
Bobbyboe

Bobbyboe

WKR
Been a dry year so be prepared for many of your water sources to be empty. Also be prepared for those that do have water to have hunters there or nearby.