Diaphragm call suggestions for turkey hunting?

Tyson

FNG
I'm a novice turkey caller at best and I want to start practicing my calling for next year. I haven't used a diaphragm call but I want to be hands free for next year, any suggestions on what brand to start with or any type I should be staying away from? Thanks

Jimss

WKR
I've shot a gob of turkeys using Woodhavens. It took a while for me to get used to diaphragms but now I love them. All my pot calls sit in my truck. Like you said it's nice having hands free. I have a narrow mouth so trim all my calls. There are some great youtube videos that ought to get you started.

Have tried the majority of the popular brands...been stuck on the Hooks the past 8 or so springs. Particularly the executioner 2, love it!

Dukejb

FNG
The Woodhaven toxic orange is my favorite of the ones I’ve tried thus far.

I use Zink’s some and my go-to calls are woodhavens. I have found that “ghost cut” calls tend to be easier to learn on than some of the deep-v cut raspy calls. Will be trying some hooks after reading this thread!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

huntineveryday

Lil-Rokslider
No matter what brand you choose, try to find a double reed call with no cuts or simple cuts in the reed if you can. A straight double reed would be the easiest call to run, a ghost cut is pretty easy as well and probably easier to find from multiple brands. The triple reed call with a lot of larger cuts or patterns in the reed will usually be a little harder to run initially.