Disaster already?

kfili

Lil-Rokslider
So this is my first year trad hunting, been shooting for about 8 months and just noticed this, is the limb twisting? Is this fixable? I keep the bow stored with the string on it but resting on its side.
Arghhh what do I from here?

Attachments

• 20200922_204209.jpg
    20200922_204209.jpg
    166.2 KB · Views: 155
  • 20200922_204155.jpg
    20200922_204155.jpg
    172.9 KB · Views: 152
Is it an ilf setup by chance? Small amount of twist you can adjust out with ilf. That doesn't look to be a small amount however.

Edit- doesn't look like OMP offers anything in ilf. Didn't know if they did it didn't.

Last edited:
OP
K

kfili

Lil-Rokslider
Smokey mountain hunter, guess ill replace

Felix40

WKR
Try twisting it back the other way. I was able to fix an old bear recurve by doing this. It took a good amount of time but it eventually started tracking right. You don’t really have anything to lose by trying it.

It could also be a manufacturing defect due to it being a cheaper bow. It’s possible that inconsistencies in the laminates caused uneven bending and eventually led to the twist. Or maybe the limbs weren’t cut perfectly straight.

Last edited:

tater

WKR
Bumping a twisted recurve limb is no biggie.

Heat up with either hot running water or a hair dryer on low.
Heat evenly on belly and back, but not so much that it is too hot to touch (think chocolate cookies fresh out of the oven that are soft but cool enough to jam in your mouth without burning you).

Gently twist in direction you want the limb bumped to. Let air cool (do not run under cold water like some recommend).

You may have to do it a few times, and once the bump is complete, it may revert over time and have to be done again.

Older classic bows like the mid 60's Wings and Brownings often show some mild twist that need to be bumped back.

Beendare

WKR
Tater, you obviously have some experience with this....and to back you, I've heard from others that will work.