DIY Barbary Sheep OTC Hunt Summary Eastern NM

arri1942

Lil-Rokslider
Part 1

This is my first attempt and telling one of my hunt stories here on Rokslide. Hopefully at the worst it doesn’t put you to sleep and at the best is an enjoyable, entertaining read. Last year my brother drew an Oryx tag in New Mexico (he lives in El Paso and is a Rokslider as well d3ntalbliss). The hunt dates he was assigned were January 13 and 14th (It is a two day hunt on military training grounds). I was excited and volunteered (or invited myself) to go along with him and hopefully help and film, etc. I bought my plane tickets and was excited for the adventure.

His plan was to Bow hunt for a day and then carry the boom stick on the second day if he was unsuccessful. About a month or so before the hunt date he let me know he got an email stating his hunt date had been moved because of military missile training in the area to the following weekend. Unfortunately for him, he couldn’t hunt the following weekend because he had a professional conference and job interviews to go to.

After weighing the options: 1)OTC barbary sheep in NM 2)Leftover Javelina 3)OTC Mule Deer in AZ) it was decided we would try an OTC diy Barbary sheep hunt in Eastern New Mexico; mostly due to proximity to El Paso and slight familiarity with the area. We had hunted hogs and javelina in Texas and talked to a guide there about aoudad and it sounded like fun. Main difference between New Mexico and Texas was price and immediately available OTC tag. We started to ask around and gather as much data as we could. We knew January wasn’t the ideal time of the year to go and we had a very short window to go but we figured it would be fun to get out and spend time together and try some new gear.