DIY Public Land Nebraska Archery Mule Deer

cayres67

FNG
Hey guys,
Im new to rokslide and am planning my first western style spot and stalk hunt for this coming fall. I plan to go mid october. I have been an avid whitetail/turkey bowhunter all my life and have always been facinated by western big game. I am approaching by senior year at UNL so i thought there would be no better time than to give it a go. I have done a good amount e-scouting/research on western nebraska mulies and it seems like alot of people dont have alot of good things to say about it. AS i said earlier i am completely new to western hunting so i was wondering if any of you guys could give me any tips on what to expect. I have no problem working for a deer but i was wondering what some realistic expectations are for a hunt. I am really trying to get into western hunting so any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks

If you read all those posts about the negatives, then you know not to have high hopes for it. That being said i hunted there once woth my buddies a few years ago. I hope to not be in a situation where i dont have any other tags and have to go back, but i would go, opposed to not hunting.
We did have a great time seen a couple bucks, learned a lot. It also taught me the importance of glass and tripods.
you got a tall tall task ahead of you but there will be some good lessons to learn and experiences to be had. Its a great stepping stone to better hunts in the future. Best of luck and give it your best.

OP
cayres67

cayres67

FNG
If you read all those posts about the negatives, then you know not to have high hopes for it. That being said i hunted there once woth my buddies a few years ago. I hope to not be in a situation where i dont have any other tags and have to go back, but i would go, opposed to not hunting.
We did have a great time seen a couple bucks, learned a lot. It also taught me the importance of glass and tripods.