DIY Resources

HuntingEd

FNG
This year will be my 2nd guided elk hunt, the last one was 15+ yrs ago, so needless to say I'm excited. My interest in a backpacking DIY hunt for '23 is growing exponentially, but the thought of all the things I don't know is daunting. I'm not in a position to go on a guided hunt every year, but I would love to have more time in the mountains.

I'm curious what the best resources are out there for research and learning? Do you recommend any particular podcast? Are the 'pay for advice' sites worth it? Etc..

I'm a newbie to western hunting, so I think learning the state draws, points, etc is my first place to start. Not a newbie to hiking, camping or walking miles for game, but would definitely be a newbie to mountain hunting from a backpack. I'm not looking for 'best unit in OTC state' (although I wouldn't turn down such advice lol), more so what can I do to increase my chances of having fun on a DIY trip, taking game would be amazing, but I just want a good experience and minimize my risk of injury or death due to being green.

WKR
The Hunt Backcountry podcast is a good one. I've also gleaned some good information from the Backcountry Hunting podcast.

Last edited:
For me it’s damn near a lifestyle. My closest friends are my western hunting partners. I didn’t know most of them 8 years ago when this all started for me. We are always hunting, talking hunting, planning a hunt, or taking the kids on non-hunting but outdoors trips in the off-season. I don’t think there is any other way if you want to be consistently successful.

When you have that kind of passionate immersive approach to it, you’re going to find stuff. Google searches, reading Rokslide all the damn time, Eastman’s magazines, podcasts, etc.

bozeman

WKR