Diy solar

Jd259

WKR
Anyone out there done solar on their home themselves? I just built a new home I finished in June last year and am thinking about building another one on a little bigger piece of property. I live in the great state of California and as of Jan 1 2020 it’s now required to have solar and I’m looking into doing it on my own but just curious how difficult it is and what the costs are? I’m a pretty savvy guy I was the general on the house I just built so I think I can handle it just don’t know to much about it and if it’s even worth while to try and take it on myself or if better to just hire one of the five million solar companies out there now.
Thanks

11boo

WKR
I’m an electrician, but the only solar I’ve done is a ton of remote oil/gas sites, just charging batteries running instruments and SCADA. I think a rack of PV off your roof would be the way. The only reason to put it on the roof is you have nowhere else favorable for it. It would be a fair bit of work either way, the wiring would probably be the easiest part. The bigger panels are a two man job, and if you build a remote rack there is digging and pouring concrete for the pole bases

OP
Jd259

Jd259

WKR
I’m an electrician, but the only solar I’ve done is a ton of remote oil/gas sites, just charging batteries running instruments and SCADA. I think a rack of PV off your roof would be the way. The only reason to put it on the roof is you have nowhere else favorable for it. It would be a fair bit of work either way, the wiring would probably be the easiest part. The bigger panels are a two man job, and if you build a remote rack there is digging and pouring concrete for the pole bases