Do I really need a better bag then this??

Flame suite on.
I’m new to back country hunting so all advice is appreciated. I am doing a hunt in northern California this year in the trinity alps. In late September weather will be in the 50’s worst case the high 30s at night. I am not ready to commit to a $500 bag yet. So any reason something like this bag will not work for my needs?
it’s light weight, packs down really small, and is nice and tall. I saw it today at sportmans and it seems nice. This would be a warm weather type bag for me.
thoughts?
https://tetonsports.com/product/trailhead-20f-regular-ultralight-mummy-bag/

mlgc20

WKR
Sure. That sleeping bag will work. Especially if you have a decent sleeping pad. I think that bag might struggle anywhere near 30. There just isn’t enough loft for it to provide adequate insulation. But, over 40 degrees and I’m. sure it would be fine.

OP
BoltActionBrotherhood
Sure. That sleeping bag will work. Especially if you have a decent sleeping pad. I think that bag might struggle anywhere near 30. There just isn’t enough loft for it to provide adequate insulation. But, over 40 degrees and I’m. sure it would be fine.
Great thanks for the input, and I have a thermarest.

rclouse79

WKR
I picked up a nice down rei bag at a garage sale for not much more than that. I think you can get away with a lighter back if you have some down layers to wear if it gets cold.

*zap*

WKR
4 is Ok for above freezing but 6 or better will be warmer.....you should be fine but do a backyard sleep out or two with some time to make changes if there are concerns...also if you can be comfortable fully zipped in with the hood over your head and just a hole to breath thru you will get the max out of your bag but some folks do not like that.....too closed in feeling. My opinion is that REI has made some good stuff, I have 3 of their older tents are they are going strong....