Don’t really care about antlers

RCB

WKR
I’m curious if anyone else feels the same. I’m new to hunting (two seasons, none of my family or friends hunted growing up), and so far I care very little about big antlers.

Don’t get me wrong: if I were to see two bucks next to each other, both giving a good shot angle, I’d shoot the one with bigger antlers, no doubt. But so far it’s not something I seek out. I watch a lot of hunting shows, and the goal is, of course, always to get the biggest trophy. Makes a lot of sense for very accomplished hunters, but doesn’t add much for me. And Whenever guys start talking about how a buck/bull “scores”, that’s when my eyes really glaze over. (Imagine my confusion the first time someone said they got a 300 inch bull. 300 inches is 25 feet...)

I’m sure part of the reason for this is that I find hunting to be challenging enough already that I don’t need to start passing animals up just yet. I suspect one day that will start to happen, but not yet.

Anyone else feel similar?

KurtR

WKR
I’m curious if anyone else feels the same. I’m new to hunting (two seasons, none of my family or friends hunted growing up), and so far I care very little about big antlers.

Don’t get me wrong: if I were to see two bucks next to each other, both giving a good shot angle, I’d shoot the one with bigger antlers, no doubt. But so far it’s not something I seek out. I watch a lot of hunting shows, and the goal is, of course, always to get the biggest trophy. Makes a lot of sense for very accomplished hunters, but doesn’t add much for me. And Whenever guys start talking about how a buck/bull “scores”, that’s when my eyes really glaze over. (Imagine my confusion the first time someone said they got a 300 inch bull. 300 inches is 25 feet...)

I’m sure part of the reason for this is that I find hunting to be challenging enough already that I don’t need to start passing animals up just yet. I suspect one day that will start to happen, but not yet.