Drip edge on roof?

stonewall

WKR
We’re building a house right now. Noticed there’s no drip edge installed on the roof. It’s a shingled roof. Per the builder, “we don’t do that anymore - if water gets under it, the water will be trapped and cause problems”

Seems like he’s trying to cut corners. Everything I’ve read and ever heard says you should have a drip edge.

Anyone know what the deal is with this?

Thank you

lonedave

WKR
Best to check with your local building inspector, but no water should be "trapped"....sounds like someone's cutting corners to me too.

Wapack

FNG
It is required by code with asphalt shingles in my state. I can't see any application where it would be advantages not to use it. The whole point of roofing materials is that water will not "get under it" if water is getting to your sheathing that's a failed roof. I would check code in your area.

freshta

WKR
I’m a home inspector and I would ding it if I was inspecting it. Drip edges should be installed to prevent wind driven rain from going under the shingles and underlayment and into the roof sheathing. Best to check with local AHJ though.
Tony

id_jon

WKR
I'm a roofer by trade. Probably around a quarter of the repairs I do involve fixing issues that stem from drip edge being installed incorrectly, so I can see where he's coming from. With that said, drip edge should still always be used, just installed correctly, which is UNDER the underlayment, preferably a self adhering ice and water shield.

Zappaman

WKR
If it's required by code in your area, the builder can correct it (correctly) or pay for a lawyer. BUT... someone has to inspect the final... I'd call them and explain the situation or better yet, make an appt. and go to their office to "discuss" a few matters re. your new house. Raise this issue for the inspectors (maybe their boss) and they'll (maybe) do the work for you. Good luck!

Drenalin

WKR