Drop/MV discrepancy

mmw194287

WKR
At the risk of sounding completely ignorant, I'm scratching my head over this one so I thought I'd see if anyone has any thoughts....

I started shooting the ABM 215 Berger Hybrids out of my 300 Win Mag (28" barrel) and have been happy with the accuracy, groups, etc. I zeroed at 100yds, shot good groups on paper at 300, and then took it out to shoot some steel, rocks, etc. At longer ranges it was shooting much higher than my calculator was predicting (I had to click down 3 or so MOA to hit a target at 600 after ranging it). So I decided to shoot at a single target at 100 yard intervals out to 500 to see exactly how it's dropping.

I'm getting MV readings right around 3000 fps (2992, 2995, 2985, 2997, 3010, etc.), but in order to get a calculator to match my actual drop at 500yds I need to input a MV of roughly 3300 fps. At 500, it's dropping only 28.5 inches or so and grouping very well (see photo, left side of tape is plumb with the bullseye), but when I plug in my environmentals and the MV I'm getting from the chrono it tells me I should be seeing a 38.5" drop. Pretty significant difference.

20170523_141833.jpg

I know that ballistic calculators need to be verified with real world dope, but I'm pretty shocked at the discrepancy I'm seeing. In my past experience, running a factory load through a calculator it usually pretty accurate with some fine tuning. But 10 inches higher than expected at 500 yards? And I've run it through a bunch of different apps/websites: Shooter, JBM, Berger, etc.

Is there something I'm missing? Anyone else had any similar experiences? As far as continuing to verify my drop, if I'm matching the much faster 3300 fps profile, should I continue to work from those estimates?

I would say the BC you put into the ballistics calculator isn't correct. Depending on your app, you can modify it to match actual experiences.

I use Strelok and I can adjust it that way. Give me a minute and I can screen shot it.