Early season Elk socks

sivart

WKR
My feet sweat and blister like no other. I'm ashamed to admit I've been using cotton wall mart socks for the last 15 yrs, because they are the only sock I've tried that my feet don't drench w/ sweat.

What is the best warm weather sock that breathes?

Cplace

FNG
Try an ultralight merino. I really liked the farm to feet Madison, but it’s not made anymore. Darn tough and smartwool have good socks too.
Big problem really is the boot that doesn’t breathe.

CCooper

WKR
I have a few pairs of the coolmax, they are great early season socks- they are my #2 choice for early season behind the farm to feet damascus lightweight.

Cplace

FNG
For me in early (hot) season when the socks get sweaty I try to take off my boots and let my socks air out/dry up while sitting and/or swap out with an extra pair.

Try merino and swap out to a dry pair during the day. When you stop for extended brewers, including glassing, take your boots off (or loosen the laces) and let your feet breathe.

OP
S

sivart

WKR
I've tried smartwool and they don't work for me. Feet were soaked.

Cplace

FNG
Feet will sweat no matter what the material. With merino, their antimicrobial, and can be reworn after drying. Cotton will start to stink.

Should powder those dogs every morning when you put your socks on.

Every night take your socks off to dry in your sleeping bag while your feet recuperate.

Titan_Bow

WKR
I use lightweight merino socks for my September elk hunts. I have a mixture of Smartwool, Farm to Feet and Darn Tough. All work great for me. I swap out for a fresh pair each morning, rotate the old pair out, either wash them in a creek and hang to dry, or just hang the old ones up for a day or two before coming back to them.

Cplace

FNG
I’ve been thinking about getting leather lined boots for early season. Hear they breathe better than sweattex, I mean gortex. Anybody with experience?

ColtyJr

Lil-Rokslider