East River South Dakota Deer Hunt

Hey guys,

I am looking for some tips for hunting east river in South Dakota for Deer this season. I have hunted west river and down in Missouri, and in both places the deer populations are much higher. I have access to about 1000 acres of private land in Lincoln county. Any advice or suggestions would be great. Feel free to PM me. Thanks!

NDGuy

WKR
Hey guys,

I am looking for some tips for hunting east river in South Dakota for Deer this season. I have hunted west river and down in Missouri, and in both places the deer populations are much higher. I have access to about 1000 acres of private land in Lincoln county. Any advice or suggestions would be great. Feel free to PM me. Thanks!
Just a heads up but NRs are not eligible to apply for East River until the 3rd draw. I am sure you knew that though, good luck with your hunt.

Jxferg7

Lil-Rokslider
I'm a resident. Just haven't hunted east river since I was a kid, and things have changed since that EHD die off.
If you have that much private, you should be good to go. I would hunt them the same as I would central or west River. You could do some shed hunting and hike game/cattle trails and find where to hang a couple cameras. Not sure if there was something specific or not but your on your way there.

OP
C
Is a tree stand the way to go do you think? Out west theres so many deer it's an easy spot and stalk or if you have a good idea of where they are gonna move you just get in there way. Over here I'm not so sure.

Jxferg7

Lil-Rokslider
Is a tree stand the way to go do you think? Out west theres so many deer it's an easy spot and stalk or if you have a good idea of where they are gonna move you just get in there way. Over here I'm not so sure.