Elk at 500 yards with a .270?

I have no concerns about my marksmanship at 500 and beyond. I'm shooting Hornady ELD-X which have a checkered reputation. I've only had one bad experience where it didn't catch a rib on a whitetail at 300 yards and didn't expand at all. I would assume the hide of an elk would do enough to start that expansion.

My rifle is shooting about exactly what the numbers on the box says which would put me at about 1500 Ft/Lbs at 500 yards.

Is that going to be adequate assuming a behind the shoulder hit?

Wrench

WKR
It will to twice that.....as long as you do your part and don't expect massive blood trails.

350 yards 6mm Remington 90 gr. E-tip - one shot. Staggered 20 yards and tipped over. Bullet exited her left shoulder in the center. Son's first elk.

1593194103202.png

Your 270 should do just fine if you shoot it well. I'm partial to the Nosler Partitions, Accubonds, and E-tips. I have no experience with Hornady's except when I was a kid. Couldn't get them to shoot in my 6mm Remington.

OP
F
Is the speed at 500 enough to open the bullet? That is what you need to know.

Nearly 3000 FPS at the muzzle, 2100 FPS at 500.

The speed isn't going to be a problem. The issue I've heard with this round is that it doesn't open very well at close range because it's moving so fast.

The speed isn't going to be a problem. The issue I've heard with this round is that it doesn't open very well at close range because it's moving so fast.
That seems backwards to me. I believe it should open more at close range. As shown by recovered bullets from water jugs that is the case. They expand a little less at distance. Here's an example 90 gr. E-tip 6mm Remington at 3140 fps in my son's rifle with 22" barrel. The 100 gr. Partition is from my 1B with a 26" barrel. It is moving along at 3170 fps.

I see I didn't include range. It goes......25 yards. 100 yards. 300 yards. 400 yards

1593198264156.png