Elk Hunting in Southern Oregon

I am new to the Oregon elk hunting world and can’t find much information about it on the web specifically in southern Oregon. I was wondering if anyone has any experience in the Kalmiopsis wilderness or Soda mountain wilderness (Northern Siskiyou Mountains)? I am not looking for specific spots but just if these wilderness areas hold elk. I have heard that the Kalmiopsis wilderness has extremely low elk density’s but I don’t know if it is still worth hunting there or not. I like the idea of hunting the more open country.
Thanks in Advance

Hoodie

WKR
I went from hunting a unit with an estimated 4000 elk to a unit with about 400. I still have about the same amount of encounters with elk. Way fewer encounters with other hunters. But I have a lot of time to scout. If I didn't I would probably stick to state forest land or timber company property where the absolute number of animals is higher.

The number one thing I've learned from hunting low density units is that you have to know where elk are going to be before the season starts. If you're hunting a wilderness and you pack in several miles only to find the elk aren't where you expected them to be you can waste huge amounts of time relocating. This crushed me my first season. This is less of an issue in units with more roads and higher animal numbers.

Given how much of that area has burned in the recent past you could probably cover a fair amount of country with optics, as long as the manzanita hasn't already taken it over. There are certainly SOME elk in there.

OP
O
I went from hunting a unit with an estimated 4000 elk to a unit with about 400. I still have about the same amount of encounters with elk. Way fewer encounters with other hunters. But I have a lot of time to scout. If I didn't I would probably stick to state forest land or timber company property where the absolute number of animals is higher.