Elk in MI

Jsal8

FNG
Hey guys, I am entering to get drawn this year in a few states but still want to go out even if to harvest a cow elk. Does anyone know/hunt out of Michigan? It’s close to home and was thinking about putting my name there just for kicks. Not sure how they are as far as bulls but I’m sure there’s plenty of cow elk.

michihunt

Lil-Rokslider
Are you a resident of Mi? The Michigan Elk lottery is open to residents only. That being said, draw odds are pretty slim. I know people applying for 15+ years and haven’t drawn. Here is a screen shot of the odds and a link to more info. Good luck!
4a00dd946184cc352d54ac7963510b7f.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

SeanDC

Lil-Rokslider
I know it's a tough tag to draw. As a Mi resident I have applied many times. Only 100 tags available. 70 of which are cow tags. Over 30k people apply.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

Two Roads

Lil-Rokslider
It is not a draw, it is a lottery. Pure fund raiser, Pure Michigan. And if you read about the winners and DNR supported tactics, a lot more fish in a barrel than fair chase. Kind of like the DNR approach to northern Michigan deer herd, brown and down trophy spikes.

P Y Buck

Lil-Rokslider
I drew a MI tag back in 1994 and was successful in tagging an elk, Been applying ever since but no luck.

Mt Al

WKR
My father in law drew the Michigan bull tag years ago, called me crying, happy, laughing. He had a blast and got a nice 5x5 with his old 300 Savage. Many were the elk BBQs at his house, the beer flowed like wine and the story was told a thousand times, getting better each time.

He was certain he'd never draw and was blown away. We had to call him "The One" for a few months after he drew, because he was The One (of several) who drew.

BeWild

FNG
Been putting in for years with no luck. I'd love to go up there and try my hand at it.

shanny28757

Lil-Rokslider