Entry level kayak.

wcasey755

Lil-Rokslider
Hey all, I'm new to duck hunting and don't want to drop a bunch of coin on a full boat yet. I have been doing some research and seen people using kayaks as a blind as well. What would be a good entry level kayak for this purpose? I'm 6'3 and 270lbs. So I know options are limited. Thanks all.

Anything you can find longer than 10'...CL, FB market place wherever..dont worry about color spray paint is cheap...given your build I would get at least an 11' one. I am 6'3" 195 and depending on the weather/water conditiins my 10' can be a bit sketcy, especially when loaded with overnight gear. Floating gun case is a must...you will tip it over...just a matter of time. You can always tie a decoy sled to the back to keep weight down.

Fordguy

WKR
Look at the lifetime sportfisher. Its a sit on top- that's the downside. Puts you up higher. But, it's not too heavy, has a 500 lb weight capacity (iirc) it's only ten ft long and it's very hard to tip. Tunnel Hull design.

Moserkr

WKR
For the nicer ones, they cost more than my old 14’ jon boat did, and weighed about the same with motor separate. I do have lifetime kayaks for the wife and I though, and at 10’ / 50lbs, im comfortable in them. You are a bit bigger than me, but I put my 100 lb chessie on it before and paddled across a big lake more than once. A bit sketchy but it was warm and we werent hunting. Ive also taken those kayaks out ocean fishing and they performed amazing considering the conditions. Can find em for $2-300 used or new sometimes.

Gotta say though, a 12’ aluminum boat with a 9.9hp is really nice…