Entry level turkey hunting

Redwing

Lil-Rokslider
I just started a few years ago in my mid-thirties. Have managed to kill some birds now and have had a lot of fun doing it. A few takeaways form my experience as a noob.

-Try to pattern the birds if you can. You have access to private property, so figure out what those birds like to do and then put yourself in their path.
-Set a jake decoy or jake and hen decoy 20 yards from your hide.
-Cover your face, hide well and keep still.
-Aim for the waddle.
-Don't call if they're coming to you.

I'm still new to this, and a veteran hunter can correct me if I'm wrong, but if you have decoys set in a spot that birds are regularly using, calling is going to be the least important part of the puzzle. In fact, too much, or poor-quality calling could do more harm than good.

Lastly, keep after it! Put yourself in good spots, keep still, and good things will happen.

Edit: PERMETHRIN!

rclouse79

WKR
I got the primos jake and hen decoy thinking I would upgrade. I am still rolling with them years later considering they have pulled in every tom that has seen them.

ElGuapo

Lil-Rokslider
Turkeys are so unpredictable it can make them seem 'smart'. They truly are the 'Roomba's of the bird world....wander in one direction, run into a deadfall, go the other direction, run into a creek, go another direction, etc, etc. One day they will run into a call, the next day they run away. One day they will gobble 100x on the Roost, the next day none. It drives ya nuts but makes it fun. Thank God they dont have a nose like a deer or they would be impossible to kill.
This is soooo true! I started hunting them seriously around 40, and 5 years later my buddies and I whack the heck out of them. I will say, I really prefer private land Turkeys. Public land birds, are a different animal.

RS3579

WKR