Estimating muzzle velocity for dope chart

pattimusprime22

Lil-Rokslider
I have a Browning X-bolt hells canyon speed in 6.5 creedmoor and will be taking it out to CO for my first pronghorn hunt. I'm fairly new to long range shooting and no ranges near me in California allow shooting beyond 100yds, so I haven't been able to validate my rifle's dope with Barnes Vor-TX 120gr TTSX BT by shooting at range. Without a chrono is there any good way of estimating muzzle velocity for my 22" barrel? The Barnes box advertises 2910FPS, but I'm assuming that's out of a longer barrel.

I was able to take an axis deer out in Lanai, HI but as that was only a 225 yard shot, I just held a smidge high (with a 100yd zero). Seeing as the pronghorn hunt may be stretching it out a bit further than 200 yards I'd like to have some good estimate for muzzle velocity to plug into the Strelok app to develop a dope chart. This doesn't need to be perfect, just need to be minute of deer (or antelope) out to say 300-350.

Any help is appreciated!

davsco

WKR
hang out at your range this weekend and surely someone will have a chrono you can use. i think rule of thumb is 25-50fps per inch and yeah they prob use 24" though perhaps 26" to make their numbers look better.

amassi

WKR
Where are you located? If near Sacramento I have a chrono you can use. If not, go to your nearest national forest and bust some rocks to verify your drops. You may also consider going with a mpbr zero instead of dialing since your missing vital inputs

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

Personally, I wouldn't aim at an animal more than about ~100yds farther than what I have verified with actual trajectory. Chronos can be off and BC's can be full of BS. After 100 yards beyond that verification point, the errors can be big enough to wound and lose an animal.

OP
P

pattimusprime22

Lil-Rokslider