Ever had a knife that you just can’t seem to get sharp?

T28w

WKR
So I am by no means an expert sharpener but I’ve been sharping knives for at least 20 years through various techniques and have been able to get most knives to shaving hair and cleanly cutting paper sharp. I have a few blades I have been able to get sharp enough to whittle hair if I’m bored and just start sharpening. I mostly use a lansky guide and have a variety of diamond and ceramics to go with it. I have a buck pack lite boning knife in s30v that I can not get even decently sharp. I reproduce the blade at the 20 degree setting and passed bur back and forth and finish with a sapphire stone then stropped. It would catch a few hairs if slide down my hand. I then tried a microbevel at 25 and really didn’t make much of a difference. So has anyone just had a knife like this that just doesn’t want to take a razor edge?

I also have the pack lite caper in the same s30v and noticed that after 2-3 months of living in the kitchen drawer that the blade had several chips out of it that required a fair amount of work to get back to a clean edge with I easily got to shaving sharp after reprofiling.

OP
T

T28w

WKR
This is also one of the very few buck knives that I’ve open the box and thought “dang this is dull”

A Buck 103 skinner. That thing has always given me fits trying to get it sharp. My dad gave it to me for my 10th birthday, so I'll never let it go, but I rarely if ever, use it anymore.

OP
T

T28w

WKR
Every knife I've had is like that after I use it. I suck at sharpening.
I could understand if I couldn’t get other knives sharp but that’s not the case. That’s why I was scratching my head after about 20 minutes with it today. Just wondered if others had experienced anything similar. I really like the s30v. Have other bucks and plenty of benchmarked in it. The only thing is this blade is long for the lansky but I can sharpen the same knife in 420 with no issues. 🤷🏻‍♂️

T28W & AK Troutbum