Exo vs Kifaru review

mcseal2

WKR
After using both packs for a while now I thought I'd share a few thoughts about them and how they work for me. I'm no expert and certainly haven't done the trips or put the miles on a lot of you have with them so take it for what it's worth. I have had the opportunity to switch back and forth between them all summer training so I just figured I'd share my thoughts.

Both have worked well and are very well built. I won't be bashing either here, I really like them both.

I have an Exo 3500 with the Crib attachment I bought last year and used last season. This year I also bought a Kifaru 26" tactical frame with the Nomad 2 bag, Grab It 2, and Guide Lid.

The Exo worked great and I really like the pack. I love the lay-out on the 3500 bag for even day hunting with my gear and optics. I was unsuccessful on my muley hunt so I didn't get to pack meat with it yet, but packed loads up to 80lbs training with it last year and this year. The Kifaru I purchased for my moose hunt this year. I'm hunting a unit where quarters are required to be carried bone-in. Others who have done this hunt also ended up carrying bulky loads like boat motors and inflatable boats. I thought the Nomad 2 on the bigger frame would be easier to secure such loads to.

I have a lot of muscle but also pack to much weight around my middle at 5'11" and 250lbs. Ranch work plus my training provides lots of opportunity to build muscle, but home cooked meals and my love for them keep me from dropping the extra weight. My experience with the loaded packs is from walking 2-4 miles through the worst hills and rocks near home with 25-80lbs 3 to 4x per week depending on the day and goals.