Experience Rifle Elk hunter looking to get into Archery

I have 25 yrs of Rifle Elk experience. I have incredible success with my rifle hunts but am looking to experience the "rut hunting" side of Elk
hunting.

I am 6'2", work out so I am strong. I don't want to go through buying a bunch of different bows. I am curious what Bow people would recommend
I start with that isn't too complicated to get set up and I won't grow out of quickly. I am not overly concerned about price. I am looking for a Bow that I can learn to shoot and take Elk hunting without wanting to upgrade in 1 year.

I admit I don't know what I don't even know.......

Aaronpaul14

Lil-Rokslider
Very hard to say which bow. Everyone is different and every model/brand has a different feel. Some people stick to one brand and it’s the similar Ford vs Chevy type of debate.

The best advice I can give you is go to a shop and shoot as many as possible! You will be able to tell the difference in balance vs smoothness between bows pretty easy. You want to find the combo that feels best for you.

I started out with a few Mathews, then had a Bear bow and now I shoot a Gearhead.

Try to stay simple or your head will spin with all of the different models and accessories you can add.

Another thing if you have never shot archery before is to make sure you shoot your dominate eye, not dominate hand if they are opposite.

Good luck on the rabbit hole!

Beendare

WKR
Good advice^

A couple things to know going in....its not a strength contest...
its an accuracy contest.

You will be shocked how fast you can stack arrows in a tight group right off the bat with a compound. But keep in mind the tenants of good shooting form are critical as bad habits can come back to bite you HARD later on.