Factory long range rifle suggestions

IDShane

WKR
Hi guys,
I am pretty new to Rokslide but thought I would send out a question to you guys. My son's friend wants to purchase a rifle to get into some long range shooting with my son and I . He is probably in the sub $1000 range for the rifle any suggestions?
Shane

Tikka or Bergara or even a used Ruger Precision. I would say any sporter Tikka should shoot fine and can be upgraded as his needs increase. Same with the Bergara. Main thing is to direct him to something you would want to buy cheap when he decides its not for him, joking kind of.

Hi guys,
I am pretty new to Rokslide but thought I would send out a question to you guys. My son's friend wants to purchase a rifle to get into some long range shooting with my son and I . He is probably in the sub $1000 range for the rifle any suggestions?
Shane
Just a range gun, or will it be used for hunting as well? Is the $1000 just for the rifle, or rifle and optics?

OP
IDShane

IDShane

WKR
It will be a hunting rifle also. I should have put that in my original post. I think up to $1000 on the rifle only.

kpalu

FNG
I would do the Tikka over the other suggestions and put additional money towards the optic. There is pretty good aftermarket support for the tikkas as well so down the road they could upgrade the stock and trigger if they wanted.

B23

WKR
I don't know if they still have them available but Cabela's had Sako S20 in 6.5 PRC for $1099 and I think one of those would be a great option. They may look a little funky but the stock is very adjustable for a variety of body shapes and sizes, they have a little bit of weight to them which makes shooting one easier, and most of all they seem to shoot extremely well.