Fall bear, solo, no bait, no elk to sit on

Did my first bear hunt this fall in a unit that isn't conducive to traditional glassing/spot & stalk tactics.
Was solo, and couldn't link up with any of the archery elk boys to utilize their post harvest sites.
Spent most of my time attempting to still hunt proximal to creek bottoms, schwacking through a sea of gambel oak...

Got into endless fresh sign, but I just couldn't make a connection. I would have LOVED to have taken one of these bears, as they were only eating acorn for weeks. Yum.

Wanted to see what the community thinks about other strategies/tactics for this. Looking for any and all ideas here.
Main thing I kept coming to was the use of trail cams. I have no experience with them, and this is just my 2nd year hunting.
What would be the best way to utilize them?

Is Colorado just printing money with these tags? I'd love to find success on this hunt. Initially I wrote this off, but now with some time away from the experience I want to figure it out. TIA

Buffalo

FNG
I found an area this fall with lots of bear sign and put up a camera on a trail leading to water. Lots of bear pics but mostly at night. I hunted through the area quite a few times and only saw bears twice. So I’m curious about other tactics too. But I would put a camera up. Put it up high or it might get eaten.

What time of year are you guys out hunting? No acorns in my area but there are some thick patches of huckleberry. Last year I found bears out midday first week of September. It was hot out and they were on north to northish facing shaded areas, eating berries. I’m still learning to, these areas didn’t have spot and stalk opportunities but just got the wind right and still hunted through. I’m hoping others will contribute some ideas

Attachments

• 98847477-CA79-4CBF-8D34-42480525314A.jpeg
    98847477-CA79-4CBF-8D34-42480525314A.jpeg
    693.1 KB · Views: 30

Felix40

WKR