Fan bike workouts

Just picked up a minty older Airdyne for $20 at an estate sale for a house I’m listing. I’m a newbie to these but I know the CrossFit contingent on this board knows them well. How do I kill myself in short order on this thing?

marktole

WKR
1) 5 rounds
Every 2 minutes, 20 cals max effort

2) Tabata format :20 work, :10 rest, complete 8 rounds of that (4 mins total). Go hard during your :20 seconds and you’ll be done after the 4 minutes.

3) 15 minutes, maintain a constant pace that is CHALLENGING, but not so challenging you can’t hold it for the whole 15 minutes. Idea is to push the boundary between anaerobic and aerobic.
Rest 5 minutes
15 minutes, same as first 15 minutes.

4) 20 minute EMOM (can be a 30 minute EMOM if you’re really feeling froggy)
Even: 10 cals on bike
Odd: 10 burpees

The number of burpees and calories will need to be scaled to the individual on this workout. Burpees and calories should be pretty much max effort, shoot for a number of burpees and calories in the vicinity of taking :28-:35 seconds to complete. It will be on the lower end :)28) when you’re fresh, and may climb as high as :35-:40 by the end of the workout. The idea is to have a 1:1 work/rest ratio, although you might not maintain it perfectly throughout the whole thing. If you do 10 cals/10 burpees and make it the whole 30 minutes you are a man. This is one of the most mentally challenging things I have ever done. By minute 20 you’re in the pain cave big time. The will to hang on to do the last 10 minutes is a mother f****r.

Minute 0-1 calories
1-2 burpees
2-3 calories
3-4 burpees
So on and so forth....

If you have Instagram go give assault fitness a follow. They usually post some good workout that are centered around the assault bike (same thing as an air dyne.)

Good luck and enjoy your new piece of torture equipment.

Something that I do personally that I don't program for my athletes.
I put a fight on You Tube
I warm up through the introductions