Feedback on a rebarrel

PA 5-0

WKR
Hey guys,

Looking for some advice in the event I have to rebarrel my rifle for an upcoming sheep hunt.

I have a fairly cherry Remington 700 TI, Gen 1, in 300 saum. Even with the stock, sandy feeling trigger, I have the gun grouping 4 shot, 2.25" groups at 200yds with factory ammo(1" at a 100yds). That is including the cold bore shots. I am thinking I need a 500yd gun for AK sheep. I have to travel a little bit to get to a 500yd shooting range so I have yet to test it at longer distances.

I am replacing the trigger immediately which in my experience, will definitely tighten up groups. In the event that I cant get it to shoot good enough at longer distances, what barrel do you guys recommend for this gun???? Anyone one have experience with the Rem 700 TI. I have no experience with rebarrels and there are a lot of manufacturers out there. Stainless and fluted would be the starting point.

Appreciate the info,
Dan

30-338mag

FNG
Lot of good ones Bartlein,Mike Rock,Broughton,Brux,Kreiger,Lilja,Hart are some of the ones I'm shooting. It may not be who's barrel I want to use but what barrel can I get. I would get hold of gunsmith you plan on using and see what he can get.

Any of the big names make a good tube.

Bartlein, Lilja, Brux, Krieger, Benchmark, etc etc.

That being said, I prefer cut rifling rather than button.

One thing you might take into consideration in who you go with, is who can get you a tube when you need it. It sounds like this project may have a timeline limitation due to an upcoming hunt, and some of these makers are more than a few months out on tubes (Krieger was 9-11 months out earlier this spring on 6mm tubes at least). Thats not to take into account time to have a smith do the job too.

Id start making calls ASAP and see who can get you what you want in the time frame you need it.

Shrek

WKR