Field dressing

I am relatively new to hunting, and have only shot one deer so far. I had alot of help field dressing it from my hunting buddy. I was wondering if there is a good how to video showing the process that someone can recommend? I have watched quite a few youtube videos but just looking for maybe a recommended technique. I am looking into gambrel vs on the ground.

Welcome.

Plenty of good videos on the youtubes for this. I think Steve rinella of the meateater does a great job here:

The meateater also has a set of guide books on the topic that are great. Buy volume 1 and it covers a lot of good stuff including field dressing.

As far as on the ground vs hanging, I have tried both. For just field dressing, assuming I don’t have someone to help, I prefer on the ground with a length of rope or cord to tie off one or both of the back legs to keep them spread and give me room to work.

For quartering in the field I have tried hanging, but raising a deer up alone takes a good tree and a little bit of strength. I played with some pulleys but went with on the ground instead. If you are careful you can peel the hide and do one side at a time, removing the meat while using the hide as a “ground cloth”. You can also use a tarp (wash it after) or a piece of Tyvek (disposable) to keep from getting the meat dirty.

If you don’t have to quarter or butcher in the field, I prefer to do that on a decent work table vs hanging. It allows me to be a bit more precise.

Btaylor

WKR
Google videos on field quartering like the one from Elk101. Unless you intend to keep the heart and/or liver there is no reason to ever open the animal up.

rayporter

WKR
you will get lots of different ways on this.

since I have always had to drag a ways I gut in the field -this also starts the cooling right away.
I can then hang and skin as my leisure. leaving guts in and skinning works for many folks but the time delay bothers me and besides there is that pesky distance out of the woods.