Field hunting geese

xOttox

FNG
So I'm a novice goose hunter and was driving by my deer spot tonight and there were 300-400 Canadians sitting where I parked during the deer season.

Having never really field hunted for geese, is that the best spot to setup in the morning? Go back in the evening since I saw them in the evening? I've hunted the river for them before but never done any field hunting. Any advice is appreciated.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Lrt307

FNG
The canadians are real temp sensitive. If you are going to watch and see when they are leaving the river and going to the field. For example it may be 30°f out and the geese are landing @ 8:30 am. Then a cold snap comes and its 10°f and they stay on the river longer. Maybe like 10am. If its below zero we have had them real lazy and not show until noon. Trend where they are going and what time along with temps. This will get you started.

We brush in around a ditch bank and make a little hide then set up the decoys where they will be landing, coming from your strong side, right in front of you!

OP
X

xOttox

FNG
Have been out most evenings after work over the last few weeks. Weekends spent most of the day in the field Saturdays and after church in Sundays. I had some promising days early on brushing in along the edge of the field and in an area in the middle with some waist high grass. In those spots i setting the decoys up with a landing zone funneling to my blind. Had good number flying over and some doubles back but none would commit and took some passing shots with no success.

Temperature I couldn't figure out so maybe next season I'll keep a some notes, but it still seems random to me on when they are coming/going.

Season is almost over here, no birds to show for the efforts and empty skies in my neck of the woods. But a day out in the field that ends empty handed is 10 times better than a day not out. Hopefully everyone else was more successful this season.