Field Judging

Had a boar at 280 yards this weekend. I gave him the pass. My goal is to shoot at least a 5.5 foot boar.

I was guessing him to be roughly 4.5-5 foot. I am not an experienced bear hunter and I am not experienced at field judging bears.

I have shot one bear in my life. It was about 6 years ago, we measured it at 6.5 ft, but we are not experienced bear hunters and I’m not sure we measured correctly. We saw many bears that season and it was visibly one of the largest we saw. I don’t remember how we went about taping it, but I definitely remember seeing 6.5 ft on the tape. We did it at home, I think we did it nose to tail with the skull still in.

The main reason I say that I think we messed up with our measuring is because the soft-tanned hide is significantly shorter than that. Sometimes I wonder if I even got the same hide back. That’s a whole different conversation.

Here is what I’m wondering. What do the experts put this bear at? I want to be able to compare to this bear for future reference. Also how exactly are you guys measuring length on dead bears, so I know I am being consistent with people who know what they are doing?

OP
Ooops it won’t let me attach pics because the file size is too large. Anyone have any tricks to get them on here?

Squamch

WKR
I've been told when the ears are waaay out on the sides of the head, AND look small. When they have a big hanging belly, a hump on their shoulders, and an attitude like "I'm the f***king big man around here!" Then it's a big bear.
Dominant bears hear something and look around. Smaller ones spook, then stop and look around.

This is all just what I've been told. I've shot a total of one bear in 20+ years hunting. Not for lack of opportunity, but for lack of ability to be sure it's a good one!

really big bears are easy to tell, and really small ones.... the in-between bear are VERY hard to judge to know exactly what you are looking at.