First Elk Hunt. Bow or Rifle?

Molson

FNG
Greetings from way down in Florida. I’m starting to plan for my first Elk hunt (2022 season). I am a long time waterfowl hunter and have never made the leap into big game. I just never had the desire to shoot a deer from a tree stand down here.

Elk hunting has always been a desire of mine, and I am finally in a position to drop some coin on a guide.

I recently started shooting a bow with some professional teaching and I have the setup at home to be able to shoot every day. I am proficient with a rifle and optics already.

So the question at hand is, do I go on my first hunt with a bow or a rifle? My real desire is to get into the bow world, but it is too much too fast? Rifle just doesn’t have the same appeal to me.

I realize that the risk of going home without an animal is greater if I go the bow route. Any input is greatly appreciated!

Rich M

WKR
You already said what you want to do. Practice out to 75 yards and go.

rifle would be easier but archery is what makes you tick.

you want some tough hunting, do some deer hunting down here. You don’t gotta use a stand or blind. Grab a dove stool and have at it.

I like going home with an elk (or two) to put in the freezer. I eat elk almost every day. Reloading and shooting my rifle is also a good way for me to spend a weekend. This is why I mostly hunt cows with a rifle. I don't judge the hordes that like hiking around with a bow, blowing through plastic tubes at each other, and eating beef from the grocery store. Book that archery hunt. Do what makes you happy.

tuk

FNG
My first elk hunt this year as well. I picked archery for the reason i can take any elk. Modern rifle and muzzle loader it is only true spike or just cow or some sort of bs like that.

bnsafe

WKR
I would go with a muzzleloader for first hunt, but with a guide archery would be my choice between the two. Not that I have anything against rifles. I just know the thrill of having elk close enuf for a bow.

OP