First Pack help

cayres67

FNG
Hey there,
I am planning on going on a spot and stalk mule deer hunt this fall. I have never done any western hunting before so i have never bought a hiking pack before. I plan on doing mostly day hunts but i need to be able to haul out a deer a couple miles or more if i am successful. Could anybody point me in the right direction on brands/models/sizes i should look in to? thanks

kickemall

WKR
Stone Glacier, Seek Outside, Kifaru, Exo, Kuiu in no particular order. Minimum of 5000cu mostly so you can use it for longer trips later. Always err on the side of bigger in pack bags. Hundreds of threads on here that you can look at then come back and ask more specific questions. Good luck.

I just replaced my Kifaru with an Exo and it’s a fantastic pack. Very well designed and lightweight, it can pack down small and it can haul meat. It will work great for a regular backpacking pack and can be daypack-ish if needed, though I don’t think I’ll use it for that.

WMag338

WKR
Keep an eye on here. Quite a few used packs come up. Camofire is another good source for Mystery Ranch in particular.

Stone Glacier, Seek Outside, Kifaru, Exo, Kuiu in no particular order. Minimum of 5000cu mostly so you can use it for longer trips later. Always err on the side of bigger in pack bags. Hundreds of threads on here that you can look at then come back and ask more specific questions. Good luck.
I had a cabelas frame pack for a Colorado elk hunt, once I got home I replaced it with a eberlestock m5 elk pack. Have been impressed so far

ptarmigan

FNG
If you're looking at Mystery Ranch, they give you 20% off your first order and you get free shipping in the lower 48. I got clipped for shipping on my Pintler being in AK, but it was still much cheaper than local. Camofire just never had the right size in stock for me and I wanted to get in some time with it before hunting season.

OP
cayres67

cayres67

FNG