First Rifle Elk in Colorado - Need Advice

Packmansion

Lil-Rokslider
Hey everyone,

I am new to elk hunting. I am in decent shape. I have no problem doing long hikes to retrieve an Elk. My wife can help me pack out the meat but her carrying capacity is limited. I scouted my gmu 3 weekends in September. Went out hunting. I never saw one elk scouting or hunting. I saw elk crap but mostly old, I saw much more mule deer crap. My scouting strategy was just getting on high points early morning and late afternoon. I spent most of my time at 11,000 ft. I saw Mule deer and pronghorn. I do not have an ATV. One of the things I noticed was I was really constrained to the roads. Is that a huge disadvantage?

Is an ATV a good investment for elk hunting? The gmu I was in has lots of ATV trails that I cannot access.

How far off a road do I need to be willing to hike in to take an Elk?

Should I spend more time hiking in and looking for sign on the ground?

Any additional advice would be appreciated!

Last edited:
  • Haha
Reactions: WAB
what is funny about that? I have done it multiple time backpacking with a 40 pound bag. If you spread it out over 16 hours its not bad. Most folks are atrophied from sitting in chairs all day. I live next to a mountain and hike every afternoon uphill for an hour straight.
Sure pal. Whatever you say lol……

NickyD

Lil-Rokslider
Hey everyone,