First time muledeer hunt this year in CO. Help with clothes

We got drawn for late season rifle hunt. This is my first time so I pretty much have to buy everything clothes wise. Always hunted central texas. My main question is what should I get top of the line and what can I cut corners on. I Have kuiu guide pants and 200 quarter zip shirt. I know I need good base layer and rain gear. Would it be better to get a good down like the FL U, and wear my North face soft shell, or get a cheaper down and something like kuiu axis jacket.
Thanks

gexpro

WKR
Classified Approved
freezing cold will take you out of the hunt quicker, mentally. don't skimp, get a good set of down jacket and pants. In my opinion, i suggest you purchase light weight rain gear (ex. kuiu northridge) that will serve not only as protection from rain, but a good wind breaker/outershell.

also a side note - make sure your sleeping gear is dialed in for the cold temps. i've learned the hard way. if any of your gear is questionable and you say to yourself, "this should be good enough" it will be the first to fail or be the most problematic.

Do you have good insulated boots? That would be where I wouldn't cut corners for a late hunt. Those Kuiu pants you have are waterproof and insulated or lined? Those should work. I like having a thin synthetic under armour style pant as well if it's really cold, but when the day warms up it is a hassle to get those off. For uppers maybe bring a water resistant packable down jacket (FL Uncompahgre or similar) and a completely waterproof shell to go over it if it gets really soggy out. Sounds like you have a few base and mid layers already. I also have a very small packable micro-puff down jacket made by Mont Bell that lives in my pack. If it gets really cold I'll double up. That thing has been an all time favorite back up layer for me.

OP
jerodmartinez