First timer diy caribou

irf1983

FNG
I have finally pulled my finger out and I am starting to plan a DIY caribou hunt in Alaska. All I know so far is that I want to go in 2020 and I am leaning towards 40 mile air. I don't have a lot of camping gear so preferably I would like to rent tents/cookware, etc. I would really appreciate any suggestions on air service/gear rental/what to expect/meat care/everything else regarding this kind of hunt. I've never done anything like this before so any help would be great. Thanks in advance!

Thess87

WKR
I’ve read good things about 40 mile air. I called them to inquire about there services and he said he could only haul him plus 300 lbs. That includes you so depending on your size you may not be able to take much gear. Me being 6’8” tall and 260lbs. I choose to go with a different transporter. That being said he seemed like a nice guy and probably provides a goo service.

OP
I

irf1983

FNG
I’ve read good things about 40 mile air. I called them to inquire about there services and he said he could only haul him plus 300 lbs. That includes you so depending on your size you may not be able to take much gear. Me being 6’8” tall and 260lbs. I choose to go with a different transporter. That being said he seemed like a nice guy and probably provides a goo service.

Who did you decide to go with?

i would get your own gear and get a few trips in to practice local. i rented gear once on Kodiak. never again! for the money i coulda bought most of the of the gear.didnt like dealing with the company. doing things over the phone you gotta make sure the stuff is there and the fact you are responsible for cleaning and damages.why stress when you can learn alot from setting up your own stuff. get on the Alaska outdoors site too.you need to get a few months of searching the subject and then youve only just begun... all the info is out there. good luck! 40 mile was in my short list of top pick for a future trip.

Stid2677

WKR