Fitness Baseline for the Mountain

123efd2

Lil-Rokslider
Hey y'all,

I'm an east coast whitetail newbie getting ready to do my first Idaho elk hunt this fall. Can you guys tell me what a good baseline goal is to be mountain fit? What should my core lifts be at and what my runs lengths and times should be etc? Just workout level goals that are good enough to do a 10day backpack elk hunt.

I’m not an Idaho expert but spend time in the mountains. I can’t tell you an exact baseline but I would say get out and hike with your pack on. Throw some weight in there. If you can’t hike hills much where you live get on a stair stepper or incline treadmill even. Strong legs and back come in handy so you can squat/deadlift if weightlifting is your thing. But you don’t have to be a gym rat to hike with a pack on, just hike more! Also renagde is right.. the 22’s challenge is a pretty awesome workout.

Also, don’t forget to do lots of curls. 🤣

Core lifts? I squat, deadlift, bench and press year-round. I follow a program called 5/3/1 for these lifts. Pullups, bent-over rows and kb swings for accessory lifts.

It would be hard to throw out any baseline run times or lengths for hunting, especially since we don't know your current level of fitness. I will say that, while running on flat ground is better than nothing, it won't directly translate to mountain hunting. You will be better prepared by focusing on movement patterns that are more specific to this sport. Running hills, stairs, stadium bleachers, hiking, rucking, step-ups with a heavy pack, etc. Any that prepares you to gain and lose elevation with weight in your pack.

Btaylor

WKR