Fly, Drive, Run & Gun Elk - last minute questions

Missahba

Lil-Rokslider
Haven’t seen this combination of conditions in one thread before, and I research RS like I’m studying for Medical Boards. So here’s a couple last minute gear and weather questions on my hunt less than a month away.

After putting it off 2 years for lack of hunt partners then C19, I booked (solo) SouthWest Air and a rental (Wrangler) for CO 2nd season elk. I can DM the initial units, and mountains if asked. Generally this is South Central and 8 to 11k. Wilderness area and steep. I did a short hunt in there a few years ago, So I’m a Little familiar with one drainage. Right, yes a noob. I know.

Since I wanted to be flexible, and optimize the cost and convenience while traveling, my kit is what you could call backcountry plus. I have all backpack gear, in case it makes sense to spike out. But my rental is capable enough I hope to explore trailheads dayhununtil I’m seeing game. So there is some gear I can get in my luggage that won’t ever leave the truck camp site should I choose to pack in.

If it helps or would be of interest I can post my packing list. Just ask.

MY QUESTIONS:

Shovels. In 2nd season at those elevations, should I bring a snow shovel (under 24 oz) for truck camp? On my pack if I spike camp? Should I bring a poop trowel? Or just dig a hole with my boot heel?

Overboot/Camp shoe. Has anyone packed in Arctic Shield or similar overboots to wear glassing or stand hunting, and also used them as a camp shoe at night (assuming snow here)? If no, is a camp shoe (Croc??) a worthless idea in the late season?

Woodstove wood. Should I grab some bundles of split camp wood on my way to have in the Jeep to save time looking for it? This is for a tent stove. I’m aware there are fire regs to be observed and I will be abiding by them. Should I bring my Gerber combo wood/meat saw?