Fly fishing rod holder for backcountry hunting

0311dmd

FNG
Hey y’all,

Im a Colorado resident who has been elk hunting for some years. Recently, my brother and I picked up new bows to give archery season a shot.

I’m a beginner fly fisherman and would like to bring my fly rod on this years backcountry backpack archery hunt.

I have a Redington Voyant that’s 8’6” and I’m looking for a light weight rod holder that I can slide in my Exo 4800.

Anyone have some suggestions? TIA!!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    537.9 KB · Views: 59

def90

WKR
I’m assuming it is a 4 piece rod? You can get fly rod tubes at any fly shop, otherwise a lightweight minimalist version would just be a piece of white pvc pipe from home depot that is big enough in diameter to hold the 4 sections.

My thought though is that if you are elk hunting you want to be elk hunting, not fishing.

Goatboy22

FNG
Buy a clear plastic tube from the hardware store for storing fluorescent light bulbs and cut it down to the length of your rod. They even come with caps and are very cheap and superlight. Not quite the protection of an aluminum rod case, but work well for backpacking.

I'd highly recommend a rod/reel combo case such as this. They are lighter than homemade PVC tubes and strap to any backpack better than any singular tube type case. I've been on too many backpack trips where friends have had their rod tubes fall off on the trail because it slipped through the straps, or they forgot their reel in the truck. This way your rod and reel are always together and is one less step when you're ready to fish. 0124210024.jpg

ohoopee

WKR
I have probably tried everything. The lightest option was clear tubing. It is not
the safest option for your rod. I actually pack 2 rods in one tube when my son
comes with me. It saves the weight of an extra rod tube.

I run a Seek Outside and it has pockets to fit the reel and the end of the