Food storage when backpacking

skunk

FNG
Hello,

I'm a backpacking newbie for the most part but I am hoping to correct that with some back country western hunting this fall.

I'll be backpacking in and camping out and I want to go reasonably ultralight and I'm wondering what others do for food storage. My food supply will consist of freeze dried packages that you add water to since I want to minimize weight and hassle. Are there particular food storage bags that folks recommend? I don't want to lug a bear-proof canister so my thought was to use a bag of some sort that I could suspend from a tree.

Do folks lightweight drybags for this or are there other options I should consider?

Thanks!

I keep all my food items in their regular packaging, and store each day's worth of food in a gallon zip loc bag. I typically just leave the food in my backpack at the foot of my tarp when sleeping. That being said, I'm not typically in a super bear dense area or a grizzly area.

If I was in an area where bears were a concern, I would stuff all my zip loc bags into a sea-to summit dry sack and hang from a tree with some paracord. That whole setup would only add a few ounces to your pack. The 13L sack would prolly hold at least 4 days worth of my food and the 20L would hold over a week's worth.

MikeStrong

Lil-Rokslider
I have just used a dry sack in the past, but plan to get a Kuiu Boned Out Game Bag to dual purpose as an easier solution to this and for its intended use during hunting season. The handles and strap attachment points seem like it would make hanging it in a tree, or whatever else is needed, very simple.

Boned-Out Game Bag - Hunting Game Bag | KUIU

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

jmez

WKR
Dry bag or any of the synthetic meat bags work well. I use a Stone Glacier load cell dry bag. Very light and has a roll down buckle top. I attach to the paracord with a small carabiner.