Freeze dried meals and sodium.

I’m new to the freeze dried meals in a bag. When I go out on 1-3 day trips, I’ve always just took oats and mashed potatoes and killed small game for meat when I could. I was looking around yesterday at a popular big box store at the various different brands and flavors. The lowest sodium content I seen was 985mg in a small bag and the highest I seen was around 2,000mg in a bag. With the way I eat, I’d be consuming 2-3 of these per day. That is a ridiculous amount of sodium. Especially if someone was to have high blood pressure issues. So my question, are there any lower sodium alternatives for meals in a bag? If not, I’ll just stick with my oats and taters.

Last edited:
Don’t forget that in most mountain hunts you will be expending a good bit more sodium than normal. However, most meals still have too much. There are many alternatives than what you can but in a store. Check heathers choice, peak refuel, off grid, and there are others, there are some keto specific, etc.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ewade07

WKR
Like the post said above, you have to remember you are hunting, not sitting at home eating these things. You will need sodium. As far as number per day, why eat 2-3? When I'm out I only eat one freeze dried meal a day for dinner. If you like your oats still have them for breakfast.

CBECK61

Lil-Rokslider
I second what ewade said. I used to have a problem staying hydrated in the back country and I think it was because I was avoiding sodium. I only eat one freeze dried a day, maybe two if we kill and I'm going to have an extra. You need the electrolytes to retain water and hard hunting days especially in heat really pushes it out of you. I also take two Nuun tabs a day to help with this.

dtrkyman

WKR
One a day, then bars jerky and whatever other stuff you like

Bigjay73

Lil-Rokslider