Frist time pack buyer needing opinions.

Rmauch20

WKR
I am looking at buying my first pack and wanting some opinions on a couple. This would be primarily for an elk trip this fall that the details are still pending on. It’s a friend of a friend type deal but hopefully can make it work.
The first one is the Slumberjack Bounty 4500/2.0. My main concerns are comfort while under weight, durability, is 4500cubic inches large enough for a 5-7 day trip.
Second is the Eberlestock J34 Just one Pack. Same questions as above on this one. I do like the gun scabbard on this one a little better.
I have zero pack buying or pack experience and I understand both of these options are in the budget pack category.

You could do a 4500 but 5500 to 6000 would probably suit the 5-7 day time frame food alone will take up a lot of space. Id look in the classifieds here for the bulk of your gear , you can get quality stuff on a budget. Spend a little extra on a pack , along with boots and optics its one of the most important pieces you'll buy for these trips, i found out the hard way

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

boom

WKR
i went thru several packs trying to find what i liked.

for sure, you need attachment points for gear unusual for a regular backpack trip. for example..a weapon..or a leg off some elk. and if 4500 isnt big enough, you attach a pouch to the outside.

i agree. food is the bulkiest crap. that takes up a lot of space, but the good thing is you're eating it and not carrying it out. i do know as a newb, that was the time when my stuff was the bulkiest and the heaviest..:)

good luck. i like that Eberlestock.

I have been using the j34 for 2 years now and have liked it other than there really isn't much room for stuff inside the pack (if you plan on using the expandable part for meat). Any extras other than day pack kind of stuff gets strapped on the back, which puts weight out there a ways, but doable. Have done a few two nighters with it, and lots of one nighters.