Fury Bullets - Hunting Results?

eltaco

WKR
Through my load development sessions last week, I found myself very impressed with the down-range accuracy of the 320gr Fury Universal .50 cal bullets, and I’m leaning that direction for my elk hunt this Fall. I was able to consistently shoot groups of bullets either touching or a hair apart at 100yds, which is honestly better than I anticipated getting out of a muzzleloader seeing as how I’m completely new to them this year.

That said, accuracy is almost as important to me as performance in the field. I do not have any background with muzzleloaders, and I’m looking to learn from those of you who have had the experience hunting with Fury bullets - especially for elk. Would you be willing to share your experience, and let me know if you’d have any concerns using them in this scenario?

Have you had success with them, and what distances are you comfortable with?

Last edited:

tdhanses

WKR
I’m interested as well but still planning to use them for elk and deer. I’ve found there are always those with positive and negative experiences but really we have to find out for ourselves in the end.

OP
E

eltaco

WKR
Post number 10 on this thread shows my results through the shoulder.

I’m not a huge fan of the fact the bullet separated, but that sounds like a tough shot if it went through the shoulder. I’m hopeful it would hold together if not going through the major bones in the shoulder.

ENCORE

WKR
Its not a Barnes.....

There's so many guys shooting Fury bullets that if something were really wrong with the bullet, you'd hear a lot more negative.
The RUM and UF guys aren't complaining using them on everything from elk, moose, bear and deer.

If anyone is looking for the PERFECT BULLET...............

There isn't one. Shot placement is critical.

OP
E

eltaco

WKR
Its not a Barnes.....

There's so many guys shooting Fury bullets that if something were really wrong with the bullet, you'd hear a lot more negative.