Gaia vs OnX vs Huntstand

I know these have been discussed but wanted to share my take on them.

I’ve been using the free version of HuntStand for a couple years hunting Missouri private land and MTNF. It got the job done, but they recently locked down some of the free version features so I need to upgrade to a paid app. The three mentioned above all have the basics: Private/public parcel info, GMUs, tracking, offline maps, Topo and satellite maps, etc.

HuntStand has some features that appear to be unique (or at least I haven’t figured them out on the others). You can save “areas” including the parcel boundaries, which is very convenient. I use the wind direction predictor before and during every hunt. The waypoint marker, which I use frequently, is great. It has more maps, including one with hillshading, than OnX but far less than Gaia. It does not have a search feature like the other two, which is inconvenient but not critical. It is the cheapest app at $25 annually for nationwide access.

OnX is a bit easier if searching for areas by owner. It has a few layers that HuntStand doesn’t but less maps. It’s most expensive if you want more than one state ($99) or $29 for one state. I really don’t see much of advantage over HuntStand to justify the cost or to lose all the waypoints I have in HuntStand.