Gaiters for warm weather and cheat grass

macabra11

FNG
I do a lot of upland hunting in sage/rabbit brush, cheat grass, cockle-burrs, and other various and sundry "boot fillers". Looking to get some gaiters that keep that stuff out of my boots and won't allow it to stick. I've never used gaiters before, but worry about them making me too hot.

I'd like to try running these with my 6" hikers, but would also use them with my 10" Kenetreks as well. Any suggestions?

xcutter

WKR
I have the Kenetrek gaiters and the Sitka Stomfront. Both are comfortable but I get hot in both. Wore my Kenetrek's the other day and it was in the upper 80's. Completely soaked them with sweat through my pants.

*zap*

WKR
Gaiters will cover to your knees unless they are 'short gaiters' but nylon chaps will cover to your crotch.

Wisco1

FNG
I have the Outdoor Research gaiters and have liked them so far. You may struggle with some burrs on the velcro at the top, but the rest should be pretty bulletproof. Goodluck!

Poser

WKR
For hot weather, I use the OR Thru Gaiters -probably the lightest gaiter on the market, in no way waterproof, but they’ll keep debris out of your footwear.

OP
macabra11

macabra11

FNG
I have the Outdoor Research gaiters and have liked them so far. You may struggle with some burrs on the velcro at the top, but the rest should be pretty bulletproof. Goodluck!
Yeah, that is the part I was most concerned about–velcro. There are some gaiters out there with zippers, but most seem to use a velcro system. I know velcro on other parts of my gear gets loaded up with debris, and the soft part of the velcro can get "fuzzed out".

Walking through all that grass, my boots do get quite wet. Having some waterproofing would be nice.

Anozira

WKR
I like using gaiters especially in cooler weather because it keeps debris out of my boots and as another layer the insulation keeps my legs slightly warmer.