Gear storage

I know Ive seen this mentioned before, but I need clarification. I have a new slick bag,"20 degree" coming, & I run a thermarest x-lite & a ti-goat bivy. Im wonderin , why not keep the slick bag & thermarest inside the bivy, roll it all up, slide it in a "Kifaru 5 string stuff sack" & carry it like that in the bottom of my ku 3700. Does anybody else do something like this? One concer n I have is the 5 string may somehow shorten the life of my x-lite. What say you?

TJ

WKR
I' don't have the X-lite but I do have an original Neo-Air. I started deflating my pad and putting it inside my bag and then into the stuff sack.

I don't see how that could do anymore harm than rolling it up an putting it in it's own stuff sack.

Just my 2 bits worth!!

OP
B
Thanx for the replies. The way I was going to go about, I would put the pad in the bivy & then the bag in the bivy, roll it up & slide it in the sack. The strings on the 5 string stuff sack would be tight against the x-lite with only the bivy sack between pad & the strings. I worry that the strings being tightened @ the same place on pad everytime would cause a cutting effect. I guess I don't have to tighten those strings nuts tight or for that matter, I could use a different type of stuff sack. I just thought it would b cool to b able to take the roll out of the stuff sack, toss it out there, blow it up & b ready, instead of taking everything out of each individual sack & assembling my bed each & everytime. Knowutimean?

littlebuf

Banned
that's how I pack my tent and pad, quilt and puffy jacket go in another 5 string. I don't think I could get them all in one

Justin Crossley

Administrator
Staff member
I'm planning to leave my Xtherm and 30* Zpacks quilt inside of my Tigoat bivy and rolling the whole thing up together. I then plan to put them all into a stuff sack together. Littlebuf is going to let me try one of his five string sacks to see if it fits, so I know what size to order.