Generators and charging Lithium Ion batteries.

I don’t know a whole lot about electrical current, Kw/amps DC and AC but I am trying to get an Idea of how fast a 30Kw diesel generator would be able to charge a bank of lithium ion batteries. Say maybe 5 lithium batteries at 200 amp hours each from 0 to %100 charge.

I don’t even know if I’m asking this even remotely right. Any help on this is greatly appreciated.

packer58

WKR
I'm no electrician but i would think it would depend on the chargers rate of charge (amps). Again, just shooting from the hip but power is power and shouldn't take any longer to charge from the generator or plugged into the wall.

• Banned
OP
Dustin the wind
I'm no electrician but i would think it would depend on the chargers rate of charge (amps). Again, just shooting from the hip but power is power and shouldn't take any longer to charge from the generator or plugged into the wall.

The only problem with that is I know lithium batteries can take advantage of high output sources for a rapid charge where as conventional Lead acid can only access a trickle charge no matter how powerful the charging source.

packer58

WKR
I'm sure there's a few electricians on this site that can help answer your question, i'm just thinking the the charge times of the batteries being charged would solely depend on the charger being used rate of charge and not dependent on the power source for the charger.

Crap......my head hurts now..

• Banned
OP
Dustin the wind
I'm sure there's a few electricians on this site that can help answer your question, i'm just thinking the the charge times of the batteries being charged would solely depend on the charger being used rate of charge and not dependent on the power source for the charger.

Crap......my head hurts now..

Mine started hurting so I made the post. Got to be an electrical engineer in here somewhere....

GotDraw?

WKR
Fast charging Lithium Batteries?!