Glass suggestions

VA Hunter

FNG
Hello I am new to the forem. I have a savage model 16 270wsm as and need some suggestions for the best and easiest glass that is going to let me comfortably do some hunting out west say 400sh. I don’t know if this rifle would even be best suited.Would like to start a discussion for suggestions and guidance.

Geewhiz

WKR
My suggestion:

Affordable, great reviews, relatively lightweight. Of course this this depends on your budget, weight constraints, and a plethora of other factors.

About the best value I could find for a recent build. Plus its currently on sale.

270WSM is more than capable for western hunting

MeatBuck

WKR
Hello I am new to the forem. I have a savage model 16 270wsm as and need some suggestions for the best and easiest glass that is going to let me comfortably do some hunting out west say 400sh. I don’t know if this rifle would even be best suited.Would like to start a discussion for suggestions and guidance.
Do just a smidgen of google research on your caliber and model, scroll through the optics forum and if you still have questions, use the search button. Now if you still have questions based on your newly found knowledge and research, then come back and ask them. You will better be able to converse on the topic and not be confused by terms, acronyms and suggestions folks may have or use.

Not knowing that .270wsm is fine for western big game hunting tells me that you’ve come here with no prior knowledge of the situation you are getting into.

That said, any 3-9x40 will do fine for hunting under 400yds.

That said, why did u post this in the long range hunting forUm?

ericwh

WKR
If you are planning on holding over out to 400, I can recommend a used Vortex Razor HD LH 3-15x42 with the HSR-4 reticle. There is on one ebay and, I believe, one in the classifieds (not affiliated).