Glassing Help

JohnIrish

FNG
I recently picked up a pair of 12x bino’s... I hunt in eastern WA, Northern Idaho....sometimes in Colorado ... deer & elk. I also picked up a tripod for the bino’s. After all these years of hunting I am embarrassed to say that I have never really glassed. On ever hunting show, I see them glassing and that’s what got me wondering why I have never tried it before! I have stood there.. pulled out the bino for a quick look but never did any dedicated glassing before. Time to try it out! I had 10x and wanted to upgrade bino’s for glassing and picked 12x.

Does anyone have any tips or advice to get me started? Having the tripod sounds like a deal changer. I enjoyed the article by Justin Crossley on 12x bino’s.... in that article he gave a tip to hold the hat brim to stabilize the bino’s when quickly glassing. I am looking for other helpful tips like that. I tried it and it really works well.

I guess my biggest question is how to find a ridge or peak to glass from? Do you just search google earth... find a high spot and hike up there in the dark before first light? How long do you stay? Lots of the areas around here can be very wooded with only scattered openings. I am wondering if you also are able to scan the wooded areas. Just looking at clear cuts seems to be limiting.

ZackP

WKR
I mostly hunt desert Muley's down here in Idaho so I can't comment on your particular area or the terrain you hunt. Scouting before your hunt will be the most valuable thing you can do before any hunt. It doesn't always work out that way and I myself have moved to new areas during the season, but scouting pre season is HUGE. It'll give you an idea of your terrain, have pre meditated spots to glass/know the areas the animals are hanging out, and get you familiar with your access points. My biggest piece of advice is patients... Especially when glassing.

USMC-40

WKR