Go Lite Shangri-La 5

IAHNTR

WKR
Does anyone have any information/thoughts/recommendations about this tent system? I like the idea of being able to add the floor or nest (floor with bug screen). Don't think the wife would sleep in it with out the nest installed. Just trying to find a good light weight tent/tipi that I could use for more occasions than just hunting. The 5 should be big enough for 2 people, gear and a possible future stove (would have to add a stove jack from Ti Goat).

Some specs on the tent:

Type: 5 person
Height: 73 inches
Area: 90 sq. ft | 8.4 sq. m
Main Body Weight: 29 oz. | 835 g
Pole Weight: 13 oz. | 365 g
Stake Weight: 4 oz. | 105 g

There's just not much on the forums I've visited on this tent. Thanks for the replies.

Becca

Super Moderator
Staff member
Luke and I have been using the Shangr-La 5 almost exclusively for the last several years, both for backpacking/pack rafting trips and for hunting. We love this tent, its almost a palace for two people! We use a nest made by Mountain Laurel designs (I too like having a space to sleep that is bug proof and has a floor), and still have tons of space left for gear storage and sitting around in the evenings playing cards. We've been able to save some weight by leaving the center pole at home and erecting the tipi with one and a half trekking poles (remove the lower portion of one, and stab the other into it..works like a charm), which we would be bringing along anyway. We don't currently have a stove jack set up in ours, though I know that people have done it..it would eat into your extra floor space some, but is probably doable. With the nest it sleeps two comfortably, and without the nest it will sleep three average sized guys with gear (so maybe four people max if they are small and don't mind being cozy). We added line to all the guyout points and bring along enough stakes to stake it out completely, it seems to shed wind well up to the approx 35 mph winds we've had it in.

Becca