Going backwards? DSLR to Super Zoom

CaliWoodsman

Lil-Rokslider
I'm an amateur photographer for sure, but I enjoy doing wildlife and landscape photography while I'm out hunting (and grip n grins, of course), as well as capturing family pictures.

Right now I have a Nikon D5500 with a 18-55mm lens and a 70-300mm lens. The superzoom cameras have been catching my eye lately, mainly due to their extended zoom range and not having to switch lenses. Specifically I've been looking at the Sony RX10 IV. Does anyone have experience specifically going from a D5500 to the RX10 IV, or in general going from a DSLR to a superzoom? My only experience with superzooms was a Nikon Coolpix P900, and I was less than impressed with the image quality.

Thanks in advance!

Doug

The Sony RX10IV is a fantastic camera. Still made and fantastic quality. The BEST zoom bridge camera on the market. Give me a call to discuss.

All of the long zoom cameras by the other major brands have not shipped since the end of 2021.

thadf

FNG
I think you have a good line of thinking. The bridge cameras can be great. Just like any tool, use it within its capabilities and it’ll serve you well.

hawkman71

Lil-Rokslider
The Sony RX10IV is a fantastic camera. Still made and fantastic quality. The BEST zoom bridge camera on the market. Give me a call to discuss.

All of the long zoom cameras by the other major brands have not shipped since the end of 2021.

Hi Joel, Normally, I'd say there's something pretty telling in the last statement of yours. But, perhaps, if you've got a good thing (and good product) going, you just keep going?

I'm sitting here on an a900 with some quality glass (Sony G 70-200 f2.8, the Sony 85mm f1.4 Zeiss, and some Minotla glass). I can't afford to go to the latest and greatest. I sometimes wonder if I should drop down to something like the OP is thinking. All this "stuff" drags on me after a while. However, I know that I'll miss it when it's gone. :(

Maybe it's just pride?

Roy_H