Got bit

Badland

FNG
I’m an amateur compared to most of you bird dog owners. I tried to take a chew away from my wirehair tonight (who definitely is a guard dog and is very protective in general). I took it away and he freaked out which is a bit odd. I gave him some commands and he gave it back which was normal. Then I came back a few minutes later and he knew I was there and I tried to take it and he clamped my hand. I didn’t realize he drew blood until a few moments later but it definitely is worrisome with us having kids around at times. He’s normally just the perfect badass all around hunting dog who is very protective, but this was intense. He also is fantastic with kids and very gentle ALWAYS. He is not food driven but bones/chews he tends to get intense.

This is a Christmas bone we have periodically been taking and giving to him since the beginning of the month to make it last.

Should we be worried? My girlfriend is upset but I’m thinking we will be ok and it was a freak thing that drew a little blood. We have our nieces and nephews over a lot so it’s important.

I’ll note it would take a lot more from this for us to remove him from the home. This is not even remotely us looking to rehome. He’s our baby and we will take every precaution. He is our child and will not be left behind.

I know there’s upland forums but I knew lots of guys could help me out outside of that category and would greatly appreciate any feedback or advice.

Justin

Attachments

• A65DB695-827E-459B-A25E-1CE94C794EBD.png
    A65DB695-827E-459B-A25E-1CE94C794EBD.png
    916.2 KB · Views: 179
  • 7FDF5AAE-20CA-45A6-8671-FFD4630B0EE4.png
    7FDF5AAE-20CA-45A6-8671-FFD4630B0EE4.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 177